Offensive Tanz

© Theater o.N., Affinity, Foto: David Nassim

Theater o.N.

Theater o.N. is an independent theater in Berlin that produces works for children aged 0-10 and for adults. In the past decade, the theater has made a name for itself in Berlin and throughout Germany in the field of theater for the very young, producing plays, organizing festivals and conducting research in this area. The theater itself has a longer history. Founded in 1979/80 as Theater Zinnober, it was the first (and for a long while, the only) independent theater in the GDR. Operating as a democratic collective, the actors, puppeteers, directors, playwrights and dramaturgs developed groundbreaking productions such as "Traumhaft" (English: Dreamy) (1985) and "Die Bremer Stadtmusikanten" (The Bremen Town Musicians) (1986).

In 2010, a new collective of individuals from former East and West Germany and from several generations came together as the revitalized Theater o.N. ensemble. This team established two fresh concepts in its artistic work: Theater for the very young, as well as "beyond the neighborhood," focusing on participatory projects in less privileged Berlin districts.

In 2014, we received the George Tabori Award for the impulses we have been setting in the field of theater, both regionally and internationally, since our founding. Starting in 2013, we have been organizing the biennial FRATZ International, a festival of performing arts for the very young. The invited productions and installations are shown in six Berlin districts. Thus, we support decentralized arts programs through the FRATZ festival structure. Our aim is to take an artistic stand against social divisions and exclusion. FRATZ envisions itself as a festival for the public. At the same time, the festival offers a forum for artistic and professional exchange, draws national and international experts to Berlin and creates new, experimental working contexts.

In 2016, Theater o.N. developed the project "Berliner Schaufenster" to fill a gap in the Berlin children's theater scene. The autonomous scene often lacks performance and presentation opportunities, as well as forums for artistic networking and further professional development. Therefore, this festival focuses on research and networking, especially within the Berlin area.

As a producer, Theater o.N. develops 1-2 new productions every year, many of them for very young audiences and others for audiences aged 6 to 10, as well as ensemble works for adults. The theater works with a fixed ensemble as its core and continually seeks external inspiration by inviting artists from various genres to join the team and by forming collaborations, such as with Deutsche Oper Berlin for research into music theater for the very young (2016-18) or, currently, with partners in Offensive Tanz für junges Publikum (Dance offensive for young audiences), to further develop contemporary dance for very young audiences (2019-21).

Theater o.N.

Events

Offensive Tanz

© Theater o.N., Affinity, Foto: David Nassim

Theater o.N.

Das Theater o.N. ist ein freies Theater in Berlin, das Inszenierungen für Kinder (0-10 Jahre) und Erwachsene produziert. In den letzten zehn Jahren hat sich das Theater zu einer festen Größe in Berlin und bundesweit im Theater für die Jüngsten entwickelt. In diesem Bereich ist es als Produzent, Veranstalter von Festivals und in der Forschung engagiert.

Das Theater blickt auf eine lange Geschichte zurück. 1979/80 als Theater Zinnober gegründet, war es das erste und lange Zeit einzige freie Theater der DDR. In kollektiver Arbeitsweise entwickelten Schau- und Puppenspieler*innen, Regisseur*innen, Autor*innen und Dramaturg*innen wegweisende Inszenierungen wie „traumhaft“ (1985) oder „Die Bremer Stadtmusikanten“ (1986).

2010 gelang es ein neues Kollektiv von Individuen aus ehemals Ost- und Westdeutschland und aus verschiedenen Generationen unter dem Dach des Theater o.N. zusammen zu bringen. Das neue Team etablierte zwei neue Konzepte der künstlerischen Arbeit: Theater für die Jüngsten und “über den Kiezrand hinaus” - partizipativeProjekte in weniger privilegierten Bezirken Berlins.

2014 erhielten wir den George-Tabori-Förderpreis für die Impulse, die wir regional und international für das Theater von Anfang an setzen konnten. Seit 2013 veranstalten wir das biennale FRATZ International, ein Festival der darstellenden Künste für die Jüngsten. Die eingeladenen Inszenierungen und Installationen werden in insgesamt sechs Berliner Bezirken gezeigt. Wir setzen uns mit der Festivalstruktur von FRATZ für ein dezentrales Kulturangebot ein und wollen einen künstlerischen Beitrag gegen gesellschaftliche Spaltung und Ausgrenzung leisten. FRATZ versteht sich als Publikumsfestival. Gleichzeitig soll das Festival ein Forum für einen künstlerischen und fachlichen Austausch bieten, nationales und internationales Fachpublikum nach Berlin locken und neue Arbeitszusammenhänge stiften.

Das Projekt „Berliner Schaufenster“ entwickelte das Theater o.N. im Jahr 2016, um eine Lücke in der Berliner Kindertheaterszene zu schließen. Der freien Szene fehlen oft Aufführungs- und Präsentationsmöglichkeiten, aber auch Foren, in denen die Künstler*innen sich vernetzen und weiterbilden können. Bei diesem Festival liegt der Schwerpunkt demnach auf der Forschung und Vernetzung speziell der Berliner Szene.

Als Produzent entwickelt das Theater o.N. jährlich 1-2 neue Inszenierungen, viele davon für das jüngste Publikum und weitere für ein Publikum zwischen 6 und 10 Jahren sowie Ensemblearbeiten für Erwachsene. Das Theater arbeitet mit einem festen Ensemble als Kern und sucht immer wieder Anregungen von außen, indem Künstler*innen verschiedener Genres in das Team eingeladen und Kooperationen eingegangen werden, wie z.B. mit der Deutschen Oper Berlin für die Erforschung des Musiktheaters für die Jüngsten (2016-18) oder jetzt mit den Partnern der Offensive Tanz für junges Publikum zur Weiterentwicklung des zeitgenössischen Tanz für sehr junge Zuschauer*innen (2019-21).

Theater o.N.

Veranstaltungen