Offensive Tanz

Workshop

Aikido workshop with Isabelle Schad in Humboldthain Park

Isabelle Schad

Wed, 18.05.2022Wed, 04.05.2022

Humboldthain Park, meeting point: Tanzhalle Wiesenburg at 12:15 pm

  • Time12:30 h
  • LocationHumboldthain Park, meeting point: Tanzhalle Wiesenburg at 12:15 pm
  • Duration01:30 h

Aikido workshop with Isabelle Schad in Humboldthain Park

For beginners, advanced dancers and other interested persons (you don’t have to be a dancer to particpate): insight into dance practice by way of aikido and somatic practices.

When choreographer Isabelle Schad was invited by Theater o.N. to create a work for a very young audience, her first impulse was to look for a material in which she and the dancers could immerse themselves. Very quickly, she came up with her own harvest of willow sticks from the garden at the Wiesenburg, where she has built her own workspace, Tanzhalle.

In an essay, Isabelle describes discovering in the work that choreography for a young audience did not require her to change her approach at all. The aspects of powerful energetic movements that emerge from daily joint training, the visual and auditory aspects, the relationship of self/world remained in focus.

The dancers work very precisely with the material. The largest sticks just fit into the width of the dance hall. When they are balanced on the palm of a hand in alignment with the dancers' own center of gravity, it creates a fascinating dynamic and concentration in the space, which transmits to an audience of all ages. The viewers sense the artists' investment of intensity and endurance in building a relationship with their material, which in turn develops a life of its own on stage.

For this, the team trained intensively with stick and sword in the park:

"It's crucial in using a weapon in aikido to not try to move the stick or the sword, but to always move yourself, first and foremost."

Their basic understanding of how to use the material has grown immensely.

In the workshop, Isabelle Schad will give insights into these working and training methods for all interested persons. The focus will be on elements of aikido and somatic practices and the relation of self and other/world, as well as an understanding of movement and gravity, flow and energy, which will be handled here completely independent of choreographic work.

Please briefly note when enrolling if you have previous experience with bodywork or if the workshop is a first encounter with dance, so that Isabelle Schad can adjust to the group accordingly.

We recommend attending this workshop in combination with a performance of HARVEST at 11:00 a.m. in Tanzhalle Wiesenburg. Tickets are available at the FRATZ ticket shop.

After the performance we offer a snack in the garden of the Wiesenburg (11:45-12:15), before we leave together for Humboldthain.

Offensive Tanz

Tanz-Workshop

Aikido-Workshop mit Isabelle Schad

Isabelle Schad

Mi, 04.05.2022

Park Humboldthain, Treffpunkt: Tanzhalle Wiesenburg um 12:15

Aikido-Workshop mit Isabelle Schad

Für Anfänger, Interessierte und Fortgeschrittene: Einblick in die tänzerische Praxis mit Mitteln des Aikido und somatischer Praktiken.

Als die Choreografin Isabelle Schad die Einladung des Theater o.N. erhielt, eine Arbeit für ein ganz junges Publikum zu kreieren, dachte sie sofort daran, ein Material zu suchen, mit dem sie und die Tänzer:innen sich beschäftigen können und kam sehr schnell auf die eigene Ernte von Weidenstäben aus dem Garten der Wiesenburg, wo sie ihren eigenen Arbeitsort, die Tanzhalle, aufgebaut hat.

Isabelle beschreibt in einem Essay, dass sie bei der Arbeit für ein junges Publikum ihre Herangehensweise gar nicht ändern musste. Die Aspekte von energetisch-kraftvollen Bewegungen, die aus dem täglichen gemeinsamen Training heraus wachsen, die visuellen und auditiven Aspekte, das Verhältnis von Selbst/Welt blieben im Fokus.

Sehr präzise arbeiten die Tänzer:innen mit dem Material. Die größten Stäbe passen gerade so eben in die Breite der Tanzhalle. Wenn sie auf dem Handballen in Einklang mit dem eigenen Körperschwerpunkt balanciert werden, entsteht eine faszinierende Dynamik und Konzentration im Raum, die auf ein Publikum jeden Alters überspringt. Es spürt die Intensität und Ausdauer, die die Künstler:innen investiert haben, um eine Beziehung zu ihrem Material aufzubauen, was wiederum ein Eigenleben auf der Bühne entwickelt.

Hierfür hat das Team intensiv mit Stock und Schwert im Park trainiert:

Ganz wichtig beim Aikido mit der Waffe ist, dass man nicht versucht, den Stock oder das Schwert zu bewegen, sondern dass man immer zuallererst sich selbst bewegt.

Hier ist das Grundverständnis für den Umgang mit dem Material ungemein gewachsen.

Im Workshop gibt Isabelle Schad Einblicke in diese Arbeitsweise und Trainingsmethode für alle Interessierten. Im Mittelpunkt stehen Elemente des Aikido und somatische Praktiken, der Bezug von Selbst und Andere/Welt sowie das Verständnis für Bewegung und Schwerkraft, für Fluss und Energie – und zwar erstmal ganz unabhängig vom choreografischen Schaffen.

Anmeldung über accreditation@fratz-festival.de.

Bitte gebt einen kurzen Hinweis darauf, ob ihr bereits Erfahrung mit Körperarbeit habt oder der Workshop eine erste Begegnung mit Tanz darstellt, damit Isabelle Schad sich entsprechend auf die Gruppe einstellen kann.

Wir empfehlen, den Workshop mit einem Vorstellungsbesuch von HARVEST um 11:00 Uhr in der Tanzhalle Wiesenburg zu kombinieren. Karten hierfür sind im FRATZ Ticketshop erhältlich.

Im Anschluss an die Vorstellung bieten wir einen Snack im Garten der Wiesenburg an (11:45-12:15), bevor wir gemeinsam von dort in den Humboldthain aufbrechen.