Offensive Tanz

© Katelyn Stiles

Atelier

Nesting ~ Landing

Theater o.N. in cooperation with Shelley Etkin

Wed, 01.09.2021

Abenteuerlicher Bauspielplatz Kolle 37

Nesting ~ Landing

Nesting ~ Landing
A studio for children 6 years and older

In the context of the Offensive Tanz für Junges Publikum Berlin and in cooperation with the Gemeinschaftsunterkunft Straßburger Straße and the Abenteuerlicher Bauspielplatz Kolle 37.

Shelley Etkin has been working with Theater o.N. as an interdisciplinary artist since 2018. In doing so, she relates her body-based artistic work on origin and arrival, on localisation and rootedness, to the lifeworld of children and their relationship to their immediate surroundings. The ground beneath our feet. Plants and animals. The city, the country, the earth, the wind.... Nature. Inside spaces, outside spaces. At home. Not at home. Presence. Arriving? Landing? Belonging?

The current project "Nesting ~ Landing" invites children with recent migration experiences living in the community shelter Straßburger Straße to the neighboring Bauspielplatz at Kollwitzstraße 37 - an autonomous space for children to build, play and be together.

For the project, a giant structure will be built on the Bauspielplatz - a UFO, a nest, a cell, a cave?

Artists Yoav Admoni and Layla Klinger have built this structure out of wood and hand-knitted wool. It is inspired by landing - a bird lands in a nest, a spaceship lands on earth... It is a contained yet porous space - you can lay close to the ground while at the same time the sky opens upwards. How does it feel to be here? What do you hear? Who can you meet?

"Nesting ~ Landing" explores how to creatively engage with the design of places. The starting point is the migratory movements and habits of birds.

We invite a group of children, ages 6 and up, to collectively build a temporary environment that we weave and inhabit together. How can this process of creating and inhabiting a place together make visible our multiple relationships to home, migration, and coexistence? In an interdisciplinary working group, we will explore how our (adult) offerings can relate to children's imaginations and thought worlds, and open ourselves to their curiosities and needs. What kind of habitat could we build together and how can this process playfully deconstruct claims to ownership and territory? What dreams do we have in relation to this place and in relation to the places in our lives?

Concept: Shelley Etkin
Sculpture: Yoav Admoni, Layla Klinger
Participating artists: Marina Hulzenga, Parvathi Ramanathan, Ludger Storcks, Nicola van Straaten
Dramaturgy: Doreen Markert
Pedagogical guidance: Lydia Baldwin, Nils Rapp
Technical support / organisation: Cathy Walsh
Cooperation partners: Abenteuerlicher Bauspielplatz Kolle 37, Gemeinschaftsunterkunft Straßburger Straße (Hero Zukunft GmbH)

Further information:

Video documentation on the construction of the Nest sculpture (FRATZ Festival 2019)
Article by Shelley Etkin on "Nesting" (see pages 14-21, FRATZ Reflections 2019)

Offensive Tanz

© Katelyn Stiles

Atelier

Nesting ~ Landing

Theater o.N in Kooperation mit Shelley Etkin

Mi, 01.09.2021

Abenteuerlicher Bauspielplatz Kolle 37

  • OrtAbenteuerlicher Bauspielplatz Kolle 37
  • Dauer00:00 h
  • Eintrittskarteninfo@theater-on.com
  • Alter6+

Nesting ~ Landing

Nesting ~ Landing
Ein Atelier für Kinder ab 6 Jahren

Shelley Etkin arbeitet seit 2018 als interdisziplinäre Künstlerin mit dem Theater o.N. zusammen. Dabei bezieht sie ihre künstlerische Arbeit zu Herkunft und Ankunft, zu Verortung und Verwurzelung, auf die Lebenswelt von Kindern und deren Beziehung zu ihrer unmittelbaren Umgebung. Der Boden unter unseren Füßen. Pflanzen und Tiere. Die Stadt, das Land, die Erde, der Wind…. Die Natur. Räume drinnen, Räume draußen. Zuhause. Nicht zuhause. Da sein. Ankommen? Landen? Dazugehören?

Das aktuelle Projekt "Nesting ~ Landing" lädt Kinder mit aktuellen Migrationserfahrungen, die in der Gemeinschaftsunterkunft Straßburger Straße leben, zum benachbarten Bauspielplatz in der Kollwitzstraße 37 ein - ein autonomer Raum für Kinder zum Bauen, Spielen und Zusammensein.

Für das Projekt wird eine riesengroße Gebilde auf dem Bauspielplatz aufgebaut – ein Ufo, ein Nest, eine Zelle, eine Höhle?

Die Künstler*innen Yoav Admoni und Layla Klinger haben dieses Gebilde aus Holz und handgestrickter Wolle gebaut. Es ist inspiriert vom Landen – ein Vogel landet im Nest, ein Raumschiff landet auf der Erde… Es ist geschützter und doch offener Raum - man kann nahe am Boden liegen, zugleich öffnet sich der Himmel nach oben hin. Wie liegt es sich hier? Was hörst Du? Wem kann man begegnen?

„Nesting ~ Landing“ untersucht, wie man sich kreativ mit der Gestaltung von Orten auseinandersetzen kann. Ausgangspunkt sind die Migrationsbewegungen und Lebensgewohnheiten von Vögeln.

Wir laden eine Gruppe von Kindern ab 6 Jahren zum kollektiven Bau einer temporären Umgebung ein, die wir gemeinsam weben und bewohnen. Wie kann dieser Prozess, einen Ort gemeinsam zu gestalten und zu bewohnen, unsere vielfältigen Beziehungen zu Heimat, Migration und Zusammenleben sichtbar machen? In einer interdisziplinären Arbeitsgruppe werden wir erforschen, wie unsere (Erwachsenen-)Angebote den Vorstellungskräften und Gedankenwelten der Kinder entsprechen können, und uns für ihre Neugier und Bedürfnisse öffnen. Welche Art von Lebensraum könnten wir gemeinsam bauen und wie kann dieser Prozess spielerisch Ansprüche auf Besitz und Territorium dekonstruieren? Welche Träume haben wir bezogen auf diesen Ort und bezüglich der Orte in unserem Leben?

Konzept: Shelley Etkin
Skulptur: Yoav Admoni, Layla Klinger
Beteiligte Künstler*innen: Marina Hulzenga, Parvathi Ramanathan, Ludger Storcks, Nicola van Straaten
Dramaturgische Begleitung: Doreen Markert
Pädagogische Begleitung: Lydia Baldwin, Nils Rapp
Technische Betreuung / Organisation: Cathy Walsh
Kooperationspartner: Abenteuerlicher Bauspielplatz Kolle 37, Gemeinschaftsunterkunft Straßburger Straße (Hero Zukunft GmbH)

Weiterführende Infos:

Video-Dokumentation zum Aufbau der Nest-Skulptur (FRATZ Festival 2019)
Artikel von Shelley Etkin zu „Nesting“ (siehe Seite 14-21, FRATZ Reflexionen 2019)